His heart

Hearing God can be a struggle. Sometimes, I over think to the point that the anxiety makes me want to do nothing and hide. One time, I finally just blurted out, “God, I am worried that I can’t hear you, that I am not in line with your voice.”

To which he replied: “But you are in line with my Heart.”

Hearing God may not be as straightforward as we want, but learning the heart of God should be. His word. The Bible is God revealing himself to us. So when I am in doubt and anxious, I have to keep reminding myself to seek him in his word. There, I can list out all that is true, which makes sorting through the lies easier.

Furthermore, I find comfort because the gospel isn’t about what I do or don’t do. It is about God. It’s about what he has done, is doing, and will be doing in the future. It’s about who he is and who he has made me to be. And when I re-grasp what that means, then I find a rest and peace that surpasses understanding.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑