When God bought the Evenstar for me

One Christmas I went on Amazon to buy gifts for my family. At the time, they had a deal where if you spent over $35 you could get free shipping. With the two items I was going to buy, it was about $7 away from $35. So my options were either keep the two items and pay about $7 for shipping or buy a third item that was around $7 so I would reach the $35 deal and pay no shipping. Either way, I had to pay another $7, so I decided to find a third item since it would basically be free.

That’s when I ran across the Evenstar necklace from Lord of the Rings for $7. As an avid LoTR fan, there was no hesitation in my choice and I immediately added it to the list and checked out. Laughing to myself, I joked that God had bought me the necklace since I had gotten it for “free”. While waiting for it to arrive, I decided to reread The Return of the King. That’s when I saw all the interesting meanings behind the necklace, and how I realized that God really had bought this necklace for me.

In case you are not well versed in LoTR, the Evenstar belonged to the Elf princess Arwen. Although an elf, Arwen falls in love with Aragorn who is mostly human and therefore mortal. Here’s their exchange from the movie.

Arwen: Long years have passed. You did not have the cares you carry now. Do you remember what I told you?
Aragorn: You said you’d bind yourself to me, forsaking the immortal life of your people.
Arwen: And to that I hold. I would rather share one lifetime with you than face all the ages of this world alone.

She then hands Aragorn her Evenstar necklace and chooses a Mortal life.

So what about God and me? Like Arwen, God chose to become a mortal by the name of Jesus Christ. Jesus came because he didn’t want live without me. God literally chose a mortal life to just be with us. But there is more to the story.

In the book, Aragorn eventually gives Arwen back the necklace when they are reunited and the war is over. But before the hobbits leave to head back to the Shire, Arwen gives her necklace away once more. Here’s the exchange from the book.

“But the Queen Arwen said: ‘A gift I will give you. For I am the daughter of Elrond. I shall not go with him [Elrond] now when he departs to the Havens; for mine is the choice of Luthien, and as she so I have chosen, both the sweet and the bitter. But in my stead you shall go, Ring-bearer [Frodo], when the time comes, and if you then desire it. If your hurts grieve you still and the memory or your burden is heavy, then you may pass into the West, until all your wounds and weariness are healed. But wear this now in memory of Elfstone and Evenstar with whom your life has been woven!’

And she took a white gem like a star that lay upon her breast hanging upon a silver chain, and she set the chain around Frodo’s neck. ‘When the memory of the fear and the darkness troubles you,’ she said, ‘this will bring you aid.”

Notice the necklace does two things here. It gives Frodo passage to the West and it gives him strength/hope in dark times.

So what about God and me? Not only did God choose a mortal life, but God has given us hope that we can hold onto during the rough times and He has also given us His passage into heaven. See Jesus’ death on the cross did two things.

First, it took away our sins. Second it gave us the righteousness of Christ.

Not only did Jesus choose a mortal life to live among us, but He chose our death for Himself so that we could enter into heaven with His righteousness. But Jesus didn’t end on the cross, He rose again showing complete payment of the debt we owed from sin. And now, one day we can spend eternity with Him. And that’s pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

